More lessons from Brennan Manning… as if they’d stop…

“The temptation of the age is to look good without being good.”
— Brennan Manning (The Ragamuffin Gospel: Good News for the Bedraggled, Beat-Up, and Burnt Out)

This has become so incredibly true in my life. What a temptation! We teach it to our children as they grow up- that if they do wrong and act like a good kid, nobody will suspect them. As adults its drilled into us- we begin to believe such parables as “its easier to ask for forgiveness than permission” as scripture. it sounds like scripture. it even tastes something like scripture… but its not scripture.

Throughout the entire bible, one phrase is repeated from the beginning of the book to the end. God says “Be Holy, for I- the lord, your God- am holy.” Be HOLY for GOD is HOLY!

i really don’t like that verse. if i could, that would be one of the verses i would scrible out. i dont want my God telling me to be Holy, to act differently, or anything like that, because that would mean he had control of me. or at least of some consequence of mine and i dont like that.

I want my god to let me do whatever i want- and not only that, but i want my god to come up behind me and pick up the pieces and make everything that i do, good. Thats what the bible says, right? “God makes all things work out for Good”? God promises to pick up our messes and make things work out GOOD! See… THATS the kind of God I would want.

because if life worked like THAT… wouldn’t that make ME god?

theres a problem with that kind of Spirituality… with the kind of life lived where God is there for nothing more than to make you happy. Like God is a grand-daddy who’s job it is to sit out on the porch and dole out candy to little boys and girls. but God isnt like that.

God desires you. did you know that? God DESIRES you… he desires a personal, romantic, passionate love between you and him. God desires a relationship, a interconnectedness with you. where you both are involved with eachother in ways that don’t leave any part of your life out of the relationship.

see… i guess the truth is, i really DON’T want my god to let me do whatever i want. I want a God that cares… that wants to change me. that can make a difference, and teach me the better way to live. to breath. to listen. to do.

I don’t want to be my own God, because as my own God ive done a pretty good job of skrewing everything up. now i pray to God to pick up the chattered pieces? no… i pray to god to pick up ME and mold me into a better person. not a good person. a better person. a person closer to who He is; and, as such, closer to who I really am.

“My deepest awareness of myself is that I am deeply loved by Jesus Christ and I have done nothing to earn it or deserve it.”
— Brennan Manning (The Ragamuffin Gospel)

About joshquale

Unusual Truth Communicator.

Posted on July 16, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

